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Facility Name: INTERNATIONAL PAPER PRATTVILLE  

Facility No.: 201-0001  
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In accordance with and subject to the provisions of the Alabama Air Pollution Control 
Act of 1971, as amended, Code of Alabama 1975, §§22-28-1 to 22-28-23 (the 
"AAPCA") and the Alabama Environmental Management Act, as amended, Code of 
Alabama 1975, §§22-22A-1 to 22-22A-15, and rules and regulations adopted 
thereunder, and subject further to the conditions set forth in this permit, the Permittee is 
hereby authorized to construct, install and use the equipment, device or other article 
described below. 

Pursuant to the Clean Air Act of 1990, all conditions of this permit are federally 
enforceable by EPA, the Alabama Department of Environmental Management, and 
citizens in general.  Those provisions which are not required under the Clean Air Act of 
1990 are considered to be state permit provisions and are not federally enforceable by 
EPA and citizens in general.  Those provisions are contained in separate sections of this 
permit. 
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Effective Date: January 1, 2016 
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Modification: 
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Expiration Date: December 31, 2021 
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No. 1 Recovery Furnace 
Informational Summary 

 

Description:  No. 1 Recovery Furnace 
    
Emission Unit No: Z001 
 

Installation Date:  1967   Reconstruction / Modification date:   2007 
 

Operating Capacity: 132,000 lb BLS/hr 
 

Operating Schedule: 8760 hours/year. 
 

This unit contains equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM 
 

Pollutants Emitted 
Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 

Air Permit Z001 
TV 901  

No. 1 Recovery Furnace Particulate 
matter 

No Greater than the more stringent of 1.11 
lb/air dried ton of pulp and 60 pounds per 
hour. 

Rule  335-3-4-.07(5) and Rule 
335-3-14 (9) 

Air Permit Z001 
TV 901 

No. 1 Recovery Furnace Total 
reduced 
sulfur 

No Greater than 20 parts per million 
corrected to 8 percent oxygen on a daily 
twelve-hour basis. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04 and Rule 
335-3-14 (9) 

Air Permit Z001 
TV 901 

No. 1 Recovery Furnace Opacity 35 percent Rule  335-3-10-.01 

Air Permit Z001 
TV 901 

No. 1 Recovery Furnace HAPS Particulate matter as a surrogate for HAPs 
shall not exceed 0.023 gr/dscf @ 8% oxygen 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (38) 

 
Permitted Fuels  

Fuel % Sulfur 
Black Liquor Solids  
 2, 4, 5 & 6 Fuel Oil 2.9 

Used Oil 1.0 
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No. 1 Recovery Furnace 
Provisos 

 

Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of ADEM Admin. Code R. 
335-3-16-.03, "Major Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. The No. 1 Recovery Furnace is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 
335-3-4-.07 particulate matter from kraft pulp mills and a Prevention of Significant 
Deterioration review. 

Rule  335-3-4-.07 and            
Rule  335-3-14-.04 

3. The No. 1 Recovery Furnace is subject to the applicable requirements of Rule 335-
3-10-.01, such that the opacity limit is the same as, but the source is not subject to, 
the New Source Performance Standards as listed in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB. 

Rule  335-3-14-.04 

4. The No. 1 Recovery Furnace is subject to the applicable requirements of Rule 335-
3-5-.04 for total reduced sulfur emissions from kraft pulp mills and a Prevention of 
Significant Deterioration review. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04 and          
Rule  335-3-14-.04 

5. This source is subject to the requirements of National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Pollutants as listed in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Emission Standards  

1. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed the more stringent of 1.11 pounds per 
air dried ton of pulp and/or 60 pounds per hour. 

Rule  335-3-4-.07(5) and        
Rule  335-3-14-.04 

2. Total reduced sulfur emissions shall not exceed 20 parts per million, corrected to 8 
percent oxygen, on a daily twelve-hour basis.  If an owner or operator demonstrates 
to the satisfaction of the Director, that emissions in excess of the levels otherwise 
authorized in this regulation occur as a result of properly performed, startups, 
shutdowns, or unavoidable malfunctions, these emissions will not constitute a 
violation. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04 and         
Rule  335-3-14-.04 

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, as a surrogate for HAPs, the 
particulate matter emissions from this unit shall not exceed 0.023 gr/sdcf at 8% 
oxygen.  This alternative limit was established under the provisions of §63.862 
(a)(1)(ii). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, this unit’s opacity shall not exceed 
35 percent for 2 percent or more of the operating time when spent pulping liquor is 
fed within any semiannual period.  

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the 40 CFR Part 60 Method 5 or other method approved by the 
Department. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02  

2. Compliance with the total reduced sulfur emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the continuous emission monitor, 40 CFR Part 60, Method 16, 16A, 
or 16B. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. Compliance with the opacity limit shall be determined by a continuous opacity 
monitoring system (COMS) installed, calibrated, and maintained in accordance with 
Performance Specification 1 (PS-1) in Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 60 and the 
provisions in 40 CFR §63.6(h), §63.8, and §63.864(d). 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 
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Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Emission Monitoring  

1. A particulate matter emission test shall be performed at least once per year. Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. An opacity monitor shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained.  Pursuant 
to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the COMs shall meet the provisions of §63.6(h), 
§63.8, and §63.864 (d)(1) through (d)(4). 

Rule  335-3-16-.05                  
Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

3. The black liquor firing rate shall be monitored on a three-hour rolling average basis.  
If any three-hour rolling average liquor firing rate is greater than 110 percent of its 
average value set by the required complying periodic test, or a complying test 
approved by the Department, the liquor firing rate is to be lowered until compliance 
is successfully demonstrated at the higher rate. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

4. A continuous emission monitoring system for the measurement of total reduced 
sulfur and oxygen shall be installed, operated, and maintained. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

5. As specified in §63.8(g)(5), monitoring data recorded during periods of unavoidable 
CMS breakdowns, out-of-control periods, repairs, maintenance periods, calibration 
checks, and zero (low-level) and high level adjustments shall not be included in any 
data average computed under 40 CFR 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

6. The first periodic particulate matter performance test shall be performed by October 
13, 2020 pursuant to §63.865 and every 5 years thereafter. 

Performance test data must be submitted through CEDRI within 60 days after the 
date of completing each performance test. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

7. The facility must maintain proper operation of the ESP’s automatic voltage control 
(AVC). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A particulate matter emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once per year. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average liquor firing rates shall be made and 
maintained on file, available for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. A report of excess total reduced sulfur emissions, as defined below, will be 
submitted to the Department for each calendar quarter within the month following 
the end of the quarter.  The reports will include the following information: 

a. The magnitude of excess emissions 20 parts per million adjusted to 8 
percent oxygen and over computed from twelve hour averages (data 
recorded during periods of total reduced sulfur emission monitoring 
system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks and zero and span 
adjustments shall not be included in the data averages). 

b. The date and time of commencement and completion of each time period 
of excess emissions. 

c. The nature and cause of the excess emissions (if known) and the corrective 
action taken or preventative measures adopted. 

d. The date and time identifying each period during which the total reduced 
sulfur emission monitoring system was inoperative (except for zero and 
span checks) and the nature of the system repairs or adjustments. 

e. When no excess emissions have occurred and the total reduced sulfur 
emission monitoring system was not inoperative or did not require repairs 
or adjustments, such information will be stated in the report. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(9) 
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Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements Continued  

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of any occurrence when corrective action is required when the average of ten 
consecutive 6-minute averages result in a measurement greater than 20 percent 
opacity when spent pulping liquor is fed, and when a violation is noted (when 
opacity is greater than 35 percent for 2 percent or more of the operating time when 
spent pulping liquor is fed within any semiannual period). 

 
For each failure to meet the opacity standard, the date, start time, and duration of 
each failure must be recorded, along with the actions taken to minimize emissions, 
and any corrective actions taken to return the affected unit to its normal or usual 
manner of operation.   
 
The facility must also maintain sufficient information to estimate the quantity of 
each regulated pollutant emitted over the emission limit.  This information must be 
sufficient to provide a reliable emissions estimate if requested by the Administrator. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of the black liquor firing rates in terms of tons/day or MG/day. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

6. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must submit a 
semiannual Excess Emissions Report and/or Summary Report containing the 
information required in §63.867 (c), including the number and duration of 
occurrences when the average of ten consecutive 6-minute averages result in a 
measurement greater than 20 percent opacity when spent pulping liquor is fed, and 
when the opacity is greater than 35 percent for 2 percent or more of the operating 
time within any semiannual period.  If the total duration of excess emissions or 
process control system parameter exceedances for the reporting period is less than 1 
percent of the total reporting period operating time, and CMS downtime is less than 
5 percent of the total reporting period operating time, only the Summary Report is 
required to be submitted.  If the total duration of excess emissions or process control 
system parameter exceedances for the reporting period is 1 percent or greater of the 
total reporting period operating time, or the total CMS downtime for the reporting 
period is 5 percent or greater of the total reporting period operating time, or any 
violations according to §63.864(k)(2) occurred, information from both the Summary 
Report and the Excess Emissions Report must be submitted.  
 
Excess Emissions and Summary Reports must be reported electronically via CEDRI 
per §63.867(d)(2) once the reporting form specific to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM 
has been available in CEDRI for one year.   
 
Reports shall be submitted within 30 days following the end of the semiannual 
periods ending on June 30 and December 31. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

7. The facility must maintain records demonstrating compliance with the requirement 
in §63.864(e)(1) to maintain proper operation of an ESP’s AVC. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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No. 1 Recovery Furnace 
Provisos 

 

State Only Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability (State Only)  

1. The No. 1 Recovery Furnace is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 
335-3-16-.05(c) concerning monitoring and record keeping requirements. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05(c) 

Emission Standards (State Only)  

1. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB, this unit’s opacity shall not exceed 
35 percent for 6 percent or more of the operating time within any quarterly period. 

Rule  335-3-10-.01 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements (State Only)  

1. A report of excess opacity emissions, as defined below, will be submitted to the 
Department for each calendar quarter within the month following the end of the 
quarter.  The reports will include the following information: 

a. The magnitude of emissions greater than 35 percent computed on a six-
minute average (data recorded during periods of opacity monitor 
breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks and zero and span adjustments shall 
not be included in the data averages). 

b. The date and time of commencement and completion of each time period of 
excess emissions. 

c. The nature and cause of the excess emissions (if known) and the corrective 
action taken or preventative measures adopted. 

d. The date and time identifying each period during which the opacity monitor 
was inoperative (except for zero and span checks) and the nature of the 
system repairs or adjustments. 

e. When no excess emissions have occurred and the opacity monitor was not 
inoperative or did not require repairs or adjustments, such information will 
be stated in the report. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05(c) 
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No. 1 Smelt Tank 
Informational Summary 

 

Description:  No. 1 Smelt Tank 
    
Emission Unit No: Z002 
 

Installation Date:  1967   Reconstruction / Modification date:   
 

Operating Capacity: 132,000 lb BLS/hr 
 

Operating Schedule: 8760 hours/year. 
 

This unit contains equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM 
 

Pollutants Emitted 
Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 

Air Permit Z002 
TV 902 & 903  

No. 1 Smelt Tank Particulate 
matter 

No Greater than 0.5 lb/air dried ton of pulp Rule  335-3-4-.07 

Air Permit Z002 
TV 902 & 903  

No. 1 Smelt Tank (State 
only) 

Total 
reduced 
sulfur 

No Greater than 0.033 lb/ton of black liquor 
solids 

Rule  335-3-5-.04 

Air Permit Z002 
TV 902 & 903  

No. 1 Smelt Tank Opacity No Greater than 20 percent with one six-
minute period up to 40 percent in any one 
hour period 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Air Permit Z002 
TV 902  

 

No. 1 Smelt Tank HAPS 
(Stack 1) 

Particulate matter as a surrogate for HAPS 
shall not exceed 0.25 pounds per ton of black 
liquor solids. 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (1) and (38) 

Air Permit Z002 
TV 903  

 

No. 1 Smelt Tank HAPS 
(Stack 2) 

Particulate matter as a surrogate for HAPS 
shall not exceed 0.25 pounds per ton of black 
liquor solids. 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (1) and (38) 
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No. 1 Smelt Tank 
Provisos 

 

Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of ADEM Admin. Code R. 
335-3-16-.03, "Major Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. The No. 1 Smelt Tank is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin Code 335-3-
4-.07 (2)(b) for particulate matter from kraft pulp mill smelt tanks. 

Rule  335-3-4-.07(2)(b) 

3. This source is subject to the requirements of National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Pollutants as listed in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Emission Standards  

1. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.5 pounds per air dried ton of pulp. Rule  335-3-4-.07(2)(b)  

2. Opacity shall not exceed twenty percent as determined by six-minute average.  
During one six-minute period in any sixty minute period, a person may discharge 
into the atmosphere from any source of emission, particulate of an opacity not 
greater than that designated as forty percent. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, particulate matter emissions, as a 
surrogate for HAPs, shall not exceed 0.25 pounds per ton of black liquor solids fired 
(stack 1 &2).  This alternative limit was established under the provisions of §63.862 
(a)(1)(ii). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the 40 CFR Part 60 Method 5 or other method approved by the 
Department. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02  

2. Compliance with the opacity limit shall be determined in accordance with the 40 
CFR Part 60 Method 9 or other method approved by the Department. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Emission Monitoring  

1. A particulate matter emission test shall be performed at least once per year. Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. For particulate matter periodic monitoring, if any three-hour rolling average liquor 
firing rate is greater than 110 percent of its average value set by the required 
complying periodic test or a complying test approved by the Department, the liquor 
firing rate is to be lowered until compliance is successfully demonstrated at the 
higher rate. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility shall monitor the wet 
scrubber liquid supply flow rate and the pressure drop during times when spent 
pulping liquor is fed.  The parametric monitoring system shall meet the requirements 
listed in §63.8(c). 

This unit shall not have 6 or more 3-hour average parameter values within any 6-
month reporting period that are below the minimum operating limits established in 
accordance with §63.864(j) during times when spent pulping liquor is fed, with the 
exception of scrubber differential pressure during periods of startup and shutdown.  

No more than one exceedance will be attributed in any given 24-hour period 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Emission Monitoring Continued  

4. As specified in §63.8(g)(5), monitoring data recorded during periods of unavoidable 
CMS breakdowns, out-of-control periods, repairs, maintenance periods, calibration 
checks, and zero (low-level) and high level adjustments shall not be included in any 
data average computed under 40 CFR 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

5. The first periodic particulate matter performance test shall be performed by October 
13, 2020 pursuant to §63.865 and every 5 years thereafter. 

Performance test data must be submitted through CEDRI within 60 days after the 
date of completing each performance test. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A particulate matter emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once per year. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average liquor firing rates shall be made and 
maintained on file, available for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of any occurrence when corrective action is required (when a 3-hour average flow 
rate or pressure drop is below the minimum operating limit established according to 
§63.864(j) during times when spent pulping liquor is fed, with the exception of 
scrubber differential pressure during periods of startup and shutdown), and when a 
violation is noted (when six or more 3-hour average flow rates or pressure drops 
within any 6-month period are below the minimum operating limit established 
according to §63.864(j) during times when spent pulping liquor is fed, with the 
exception of scrubber differential pressure during periods of startup and shutdown). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of parametric monitoring data required under §63.864, including any period when 
the 3-hour average flow rate or pressure drop, during times when spent pulping 
liquor is fed, were inconsistent with the levels established during the initial or 
subsequent performance test, with a brief explanation of the cause of the deviation, 
the time the deviation occurred, and the time corrective action was initiated and 
completed, and the corrective action taken.  The facility must also maintain 
sufficient information to estimate the quantity of each regulated pollutant emitted 
over the emission limit for each failure to meet an operating limit.  The information 
must be sufficient to provide a reliable emissions estimate if requested by the 
Administrator. 

The facility must also maintain records and documentation of supporting calculations 
for compliance determination made under §63.865(a) through (d). 

The facility must also maintain records of the monitoring parameter ranges for the 
scrubber flow rates and pressure drops. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements Continued  

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must submit a 
semiannual Excess Emissions Report and/or Summary Report containing the 
information required in §63.867(c), including the number and duration of three hour 
averages when the flow rate or pressure drop were below the minimum operating 
limit during times when spent pulping liquor is fed.  If the total duration of excess 
emissions or process control system parameter exceedances for the reporting period 
is less than 1 percent of the total reporting period operating time, and CMS 
downtime is less than 5 percent of the total reporting period operating time, only the 
Summary Report is required to be submitted.  If the total duration of excess 
emissions or process control system parameter exceedances for the reporting period 
is 1 percent or greater of the total reporting period operating time, or the total CMS 
downtime for the reporting period is 5 percent or greater of the total reporting period 
operating time, or any violations according to §63.864(k)(2) occurred, information 
from both the Summary Report and Excess Emissions Report must be submitted.   

Excess Emissions and Summary Reports must be reported electronically via CEDRI 
per §63.867(d)(2) once the reporting form specific to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM 
has been available in CEDRI for one year.   

Reports shall be submitted within 30 days following the end of the semiannual 
periods ending on June 30 and December 31. 

 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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No. 1 Smelt Tank 
Provisos 

 

State Only Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. The No. 1 Smelt Tank is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-
5-.04 (7) concerning total reduced sulfur from kraft pulp mill smelt tanks 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(7) 

Emission Standards  

1. Total reduced sulfur emissions shall not exceed 0.033 pounds per ton of black liquor 
solids. If an owner or operator demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that 
emissions in excess of the levels otherwise authorized in this regulation occur as a 
result of properly performed startups, shutdowns or unavoidable malfunctions these 
emissions will not constitute a violation.. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(7) 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the total reduced sulfur emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Method 16, 16A, or 16B 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

Emission Monitoring  

1. For total reduced sulfur periodic monitoring, if any three-hour rolling average wet 
scrubber dilute caustic recirculation flow rate is less than 90 percent of its average 
value set by the required complying periodic test, or a complying test approved by 
the Department, the cause is to be investigated and appropriate corrective action is to 
be taken within twenty-four hours. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

2. A total reduced sulfur emission test shall be performed at least once every five years.  Rule  335-3-16-.05 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A total reduced sulfur emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once every 5 years. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average wet scrubber dilute caustic recirculation 
flow rates shall be made and maintained on file, available for inspection for at least 
five years. 

Results of the daily analytical tests to assure that a dilute caustic solution is 
maintained shall be recorded and maintained on file, available for inspection for at 
least five years. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 
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No. 2 Recovery Furnace 
Informational Summary 

 

Description:  No. 2 Recovery Furnace 
    
Emission Unit No: Z011 
 

Installation Date:  1980   Reconstruction / Modification date:    
 

Operating Capacity: 159,000 lb BLS/hr 
 

Operating Schedule: 8760 hours/year. 
 

This unit contains equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 
40 CFR Part 60 Subpart BB 
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM 
 

Pollutants Emitted 
Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 

Air Permit Z011 
TV 904 & 905  

No. 2 Recovery Furnace Particulate 
matter 

No Greater than the more stringent of 0.044 
grains per SDCF at 8 % oxygen or 73 pounds 
per hour 

Rule  335-3-10-.02 (1) and (28) 

Air Permit Z011 
TV 904 & 905  

No. 2 Recovery Furnace  Total 
reduced 
sulfur 

No Greater than the more stringent of 5 parts 
per million by volume at 8% oxygen or 7 
pounds per hour 

Rule  335-3-10-.02 (1) and (28) 

Air Permit Z011 
TV 904 & 905  

No. 2 Recovery Furnace Sulfur 
dioxide 

No Greater than the more stringent of 250 
parts per million by volume at 8% oxygen or 
482 pounds per hour (Three-hour average) 

Rule  335-3-14-.04 (9) 

Air Permit Z011 
TV 904 & 905  

No. 2 Recovery Furnace Opacity 35 percent Rule  335-3-10-.01 

Air Permit Z011 
TV 904  

No. 2 Recovery Furnace HAPS 
(Stack 1) 

Particulate matter as a surrogate for HAPs 
shall not not exceed 0.024 gr/dscf @8% 
oxygen 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (1) and (38) 

Air Permit Z011 
TV 905  

No. 2 Recovery Furnace HAPS 
(Stack 2) 

Particulate matter as a surrogate for HAPs 
shall not not exceed 0.024 gr/dscf @8% 
oxygen 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (1) and (38) 

 
Permitted Fuels  

Fuel % Sulfur 
Black Liquor Solids  
 2, 4, 5 & 6 Fuel Oil 2.9 

Used Oil 1.0 
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No. 2 Recovery Furnace 
Provisos 

 

Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of ADEM Admin. Code R. 
335-3-16-.03, "Major Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. The No. 2 Recovery Furnace is subject to the applicable requirements of the Federal 
New Source Performance Standards found in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 

3. This source is subject to the requirements of National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Pollutants as listed in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Emission Standards  

1. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB, particulate matter emissions shall 
not exceed the more stringent of 0.044 grains per SDCF at 8% oxygen or 73 pounds 
per hour. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 

2. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB, total reduced sulfur emissions shall 
not exceed the more stringent of 5 parts per million by volume at 8% oxygen, or 7 
pounds per hour. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, as a surrogate for HAPs, the 
particulate matter emissions from this unit shall not exceed 0.024 gr/sdcf at 8% 
oxygen (Stack 1) and 0.024 gr/sdcf at 8% oxygen (Stack 2) .  This alternative limit 
was established under the provisions of §63.862 (a)(1)(ii). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, this unit’s opacity shall not exceed 
35 percent for 2 percent or more of the operating time when spent pulping liquor is 
fed within any semiannual period.   

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

5. Sulfur dioxide emissions shall not exceed the more stringent of 250 parts per million 
by volume at 8% oxygen or 482 pounds per hour (three-hour average) 

Rule  335-3-14-.04(9) 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the 40 CFR Part 60 Method 5 or other method approved by the 
Department. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02  

2. Compliance with the total reduced sulfur emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the continuous emission monitor, 40 CFR Part 60, Method 16, 16A, 
or 16B. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. Compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission limit shall be determined in accordance 
with 40 CFR Part 60, Method 6. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

4. Compliance with the opacity limit shall be determined by a continuous opacity 
monitoring system (COMS) installed, calibrated, and maintained in accordance with 
Performance Specification 1 (PS-1) in Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 60 and the 
provisions in 40 CFR §63.6(h), §63.8, and §63.864(d). 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Emission Monitoring  

1. A particulate matter emission test shall be performed at least once per year. Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. An opacity monitor shall be installed, calibrated, operated, and maintained.  Pursuant 
to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the COMs shall meet the provisions of §63.6(h), 
§63.8, and §63.864 (d)(1) through (d)(4). 

Rule  335-3-16-.05                  
Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Emission Monitoring Continued  

3. The black liquor firing rate shall be monitored on a three-hour rolling average basis.  
If any three-hour rolling average liquor firing rate is greater than 110 percent of its 
average value set by the required complying periodic test, or a complying test 
approved by the Department, the liquor firing rate is to be lowered until compliance 
is successfully demonstrated at the higher rate. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

4. A continuous emission monitoring system for the measurement of total reduced 
sulfur and oxygen shall be installed, operated, and maintained. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

5. A sulfur dioxide emission test shall be performed at least once every five years. Rule  335-3-14-.02 
 

6. As specified in §63.8(g)(5), monitoring data recorded during periods of unavoidable 
CMS breakdowns, out-of-control periods, repairs, maintenance periods, calibration 
checks, and zero (low-level) and high level adjustments shall not be included in any 
data average computed under 40 CFR 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

7. The first periodic particulate matter performance test shall be performed by October 
13, 2020 pursuant to §63.865 and every 5 years thereafter. 
 
Performance test data must be submitted through CEDRI within 60 days after the 
date of completing each performance test. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

8. The facility must maintain proper operation of the ESP’s automatic voltage control 
(AVC). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A particulate matter emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once per year. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average liquor firing rates shall be made and 
maintained on file, available for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. A report of excess total reduced sulfur emissions, as defined below, will be 
submitted to the Department for each calendar quarter within the month following 
the end of the quarter.  The reports will include the following information: 

a. The magnitude of excess emissions 20 parts per million adjusted to 8 
percent oxygen and over computed from twelve hour averages (data 
recorded during periods of total reduced sulfur emission monitoring 
system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks and zero and span 
adjustments shall not be included in the data averages). 

b. The date and time of commencement and completion of each time period 
of excess emissions. 

c. The nature and cause of the excess emissions (if known) and the corrective 
action taken or preventative measures adopted. 

d. The date and time identifying each period during which the total reduced 
sulfur emission monitoring system was inoperative (except for zero and 
span checks) and the nature of the system repairs or adjustments. 

e. When no excess emissions have occurred and the total reduced sulfur 
emission monitoring system was not inoperative or did not require repairs 
or adjustments, such information will be stated in the report. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(9) 
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Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements Continued  

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of any occurrence when corrective action is required when the average of ten 
consecutive 6-minute averages result in a measurement greater than 20 percent 
opacity when spent pulping liquor is fed, and when a violation is noted (when 
opacity is greater than 35 percent for 2 percent or more of the operating time when 
spent pulping liquor is fed within any semiannual period). 

 
For each failure to meet the opacity standard, the date, start time, and duration of 
each failure must be recorded, along with the actions taken to minimize emissions, 
and any corrective actions taken to return the affected unit to its normal or usual 
manner of operation.   
 
The facility must also maintain sufficient information to estimate the quantity of 
each regulated pollutant emitted over the emission limit.  This information must be 
sufficient to provide a reliable emissions estimate if requested by the Administrator. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of the black liquor firing rates in terms of tons/day or MG/day. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

6. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must submit a 
semiannual Excess Emissions Report and/or Summary Report containing the 
information required in §63.867 (c), including the number and duration of 
occurrences when the average of ten consecutive 6-minute averages result in a 
measurement greater than 20 percent opacity when spent pulping liquor is fed, and 
when the opacity is greater than 35 percent for 2 percent or more of the operating 
time within any semiannual period.  If the total duration of excess emissions or 
process control system parameter exceedances for the reporting period is less than 1 
percent of the total reporting period operating time, and CMS downtime is less than 
5 percent of the total reporting period operating time, only the Summary Report is 
required to be submitted.  If the total duration of excess emissions or process control 
system parameter exceedances for the reporting period is 1 percent or greater of the 
total reporting period operating time, or the total CMS downtime for the reporting 
period is 5 percent or greater of the total reporting period operating time, or any 
violations according to §63.864(k)(2) occurred, information from both the Summary 
Report and the Excess Emissions Report must be submitted.  
 
Excess Emissions and Summary Reports must be reported electronically via CEDRI 
per §63.867(d)(2) once the reporting form specific to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM 
has been available in CEDRI for one year.   
 
Reports shall be submitted within 30 days following the end of the semiannual 
periods ending on June 30 and December 31. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

7. A sulfur dioxide emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at least 
once every five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

8. The facility must maintain records demonstrating compliance with the requirement 
in §63.864(e)(1) to maintain proper operation of an ESP’s AVC. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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No. 2 Smelt Tank 
Informational Summary 

 

Description:  No.2 Smelt Tank 
    
Emission Unit No: Z012 
 

Installation Date:  1980   Reconstruction / Modification date:   
 

Operating Capacity: 159,000 lb BLS/hr 
 

Operating Schedule: 8760 hours/year. 
 

This unit contains equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 
40 CFR Part 60 Subpart BB 
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM 
 

Pollutants Emitted 
Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 

Air Permit Z012 
TV 906  

No. 2 Smelt Tank Particulate 
matter 

No Greater than the more stringent of 0.1 
g/kg black liquor soilds (dry weight) [0.2 
lb/ton black liquor solids (dry weight)} or 16 
pounds per hour 

Rule  335-3-10-.02 (1) and (28) 
and Rule 335-3-14 

Air Permit Z012 
TV 902 & 903  

No. 2 Smelt Tank (State 
only) 

Total 
reduced 
sulfur 

No Greater than the more stringent of 0.033 
lb/ton of black liquor solids or 2.6 pounds 
per hour 

Rule  335-3-10-.02 (1) and (28) 
and Rule 335-3-14 

Air Permit Z012 
TV 902 & 903  

No. 2 Smelt Tank Opacity No Greater than 20 percent with one six-
minute period up to 40 percent in any one 
hour period 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Air Permit Z012 
TV 902 & 903  

No. 2 Smelt Tank HAPS Particulate matter as a surrogate for HAPS 
shall not exceed 0.19 lbs/ton of black liquor 
solids 

Rule 335-3-11-.02(38) 
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No. 2 Smelt Tank 
Provisos 

Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of ADEM Admin. Code R. 
335-3-16-.03, "Major Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. This source is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-4-.01 for 
opacity. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

3. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of the Federal New Source 
Performance Standards found in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 

4. This source is subject to the requirements of National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Pollutants as listed in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Emission Standards  

1. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.2 lb/ton black liquor solids (dry 
weight) or 16 pounds per hour. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(1) and (28) 
and Rule  335-3-14 

2. Opacity shall not exceed twenty percent as determined by six-minute average.  
During one six-minute period in any sixty minute period, a person may discharge 
into the atmosphere from any source of emission, particulate of an opacity not 
greater than that designated as forty percent. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

3. Total reduced sulfur emissions shall not exceed 0.033 pounds per ton of black liquor 
solids. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(1) and (28) 
and Rule  335-3-14 

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, particulate matter emissions, as a 
surrogate for HAPs, shall not exceed 0.19 pounds per ton of black liquor solids fired.  
This alternative limit was established under the provisions of §63.862 (a)(1)(ii). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the 40 CFR Part 60 Method 5 or other method approved by the 
Department. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02  

2. Compliance with the opacity limit shall be determined in accordance with the 40 
CFR Part 60 Method 9 or other method approved by the Department. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

3. Compliance with the total reduced sulfur emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Method 16, 16A, or 16B. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

Emission Monitoring  

1. A particulate matter emission test shall be performed at least once per year. Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. For particulate matter periodic monitoring, if any three-hour rolling average liquor 
firing rate is greater than 110 percent of its average value set by the required 
complying periodic test or a complying test approved by the Department, the liquor 
firing rate is to be lowered until compliance is successfully demonstrated at the 
higher rate. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 
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Emission Monitoring Continued  

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility shall monitor the wet 
scrubber liquid supply flow rate and fan amperage during times when spent pulping 
liquor is fed.  The parametric monitoring system shall meet the requirements listed in 
§63.8(c). 

This unit shall not have 6 or more 3-hour average parameter values within any 6-
month reporting period that are below the minimum operating limits established in 
accordance with §63.864(j) during times when spent pulping liquor is fed. 

No more than one exceedance will be attributed in any given 24-hour period 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

4. For TRS periodic monitoring, in any three-hour rolling average total weak wash 
flow to the scrubber and rod deck is less than 90 percent of its respective average 
value set by the required complying periodic test or a complying test approved by 
the Department or if fan amp readings indicate the fan is not operating, the cause is 
to be investigated and appropriate corrective action is to be taken within twenty-four 
hours. 

An appropriate analytical test will be performed daily to assure that a weak wash 
solution is maintained. If the test indicates a loss of weak wash solution, the cause is 
to be investigated and appropriate corrective action is to be taken. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

5. As specified in §63.8(g)(5), monitoring data recorded during periods of unavoidable 
CMS breakdowns, out-of-control periods, repairs, maintenance periods, calibration 
checks, and zero (low-level) and high level adjustments shall not be included in any 
data average computed under 40 CFR 63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

6. The first periodic particulate matter performance test shall be performed by October 
13, 2020 pursuant to §63.865 and every 5 years thereafter. 

Performance test data must be submitted through CEDRI within 60 days after the 
date of completing each performance test. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A particulate matter emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once per year. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average liquor firing rates shall be made and 
maintained on file, available for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of any occurrence when corrective action is required (when a 3-hour average flow 
rate or fan amperage is below the minimum operating limit established according to 
§63.864(j) during time when spent pulping liquor is fed), and when a violation is 
noted (when six or more 3-hour average flow rates or fan amperage values within 
any 6-month period are below the minimum operating limit established according to 
§63.864(j) during times when spent pulping liquor is fed). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements Continued  

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of parametric monitoring data required under §63.864, including any period when 
the 3-hour average flow rate or fan amperage, during times when spent pulping 
liquor is fed, were inconsistent with the levels established during the initial or 
subsequent performance test, with a brief explanation of the cause of the deviation, 
the time the deviation occurred, and the time corrective action was initiated and 
completed, and the corrective action taken.  The facility must also maintain 
sufficient information to estimate the quantity of each regulated pollutant emitted 
over the emission limit for each failure to meet an operating limit.  The information 
must be sufficient to provide a reliable emissions estimate if requested by the 
Administrator. 

The facility must also maintain records and documentation of supporting calculations 
for compliance determination made under §63.865 (a) through (d). 
 
The facility must also maintain records of the monitoring parameter ranges for the 
scrubber flow rates and fan amperage. 
 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must submit a 
semiannual Excess Emissions Report and/or Summary Report containing the 
information required in §63.867(c), including the number and duration of three hour 
averages when the flow rate or fan amperage were below the minimum operating 
limit during times when spent pulping liquor is fed.  If the total duration of excess 
emissions or process control system parameter exceedances for the reporting period 
is less than 1 percent of the total reporting period operating time, and CMS 
downtime is less than 5 percent of the total reporting period operating time, only the 
Summary Report is required to be submitted.  If the total duration of excess 
emissions or process control system parameter exceedances for the reporting period 
is 1 percent or greater of the total reporting period operating time, or the total CMS 
downtime for the reporting period is 5 percent or greater of the total reporting period 
operating time, or any violations according to §63.864(k)(2) occurred, information 
from both the Summary Report and Excess Emissions Report must be submitted.   
 
Excess Emissions and Summary Reports must be reported electronically via CEDRI 
per §63.867(d)(2) once the reporting form specific to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM 
has been available in CEDRI for one year.   
 
Reports shall be submitted within 30 days following the end of the semiannual 
periods ending on June 30 and December 31. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

6. Records of all three-hour rolling average total weak wash flow to the scrubber and 
rod deck and indication of fan amps shall be made and maintained on file available 
for inspection for at least five years. 

In both cases, results of the daily analytical tests to assure that a weak wash solution 
is maintained shall be recorded and maintained on file available for inspection for at 
least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 
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RICE MACT UNITS 
Informational Summary 

 
Description: No. 1 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive, No. 2 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive, No. 1 Fire Pump, No. 2 Fire Pump 
 
Emission Unit     Installation Date: Reconstruction / Modification date:  

  LK1 - No. 1 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive  2012   N/A 
 LK2 - No. 2 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive  2015   N/A 
 FP1 - No. 1 Fire Pump    2016   N/A  
 FP2 - No. 2 Fire Pump    2018   N/A        

    
Operating Capacity:      
         Unit    HP  Type  Fuel  

No. 1 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive  46 hp  Compression ULSD 
 No. 2 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive  46 hp  Compression ULSD 
 No. 1 Fire Pump    305 hp  Compression ULSD 
 No. 2 Fire Pump    305 hp  Compression ULSD 
  

Operating Schedule:       Calendar Year Limit             Non-Emergency Use 
 No. 1 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive    <500 hours/year            
 No. 2 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive    <500 hours/year            
 No. 1 Fire Pump      <100 hours/year         <50 hours/year   
 No. 2 Fire Pump      <100 hours/year         <50 hours/year   

 
These units contain equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 

40 CFR Part 60 Subpart IIII (LK1, LK2, FP1, & FP2 only) 
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ( all units) 

 
Pollutants Emitted 

Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 
LK1, LK2, FP1, 

FP2 
RICE Engines Opacity < 20% as determined by six-minute average, 

with one six-minute period up to 40% in any 
one hour period. 

Rule 335-3-4-.01 

LK1, LK2 RICE Engines HAPs Comply with 40 CFR 60.4204(b) which 
reference CFR 89.112, specifically: 
 
Max Engine Power : 19<kW<37 (Tier 2) 
Emission Standards (g/kW-hr) 
NMHC+ NOx : 7.5(5.59 g/hp-hr) 
CO: 5.5 (4.10 g/hp-hr) 
PM: 0.60 (0.45 g/hp-hr) 

Rule 335-3-10-.02(87) 

FP1, FP2 RICE Engines HAPs NMHC + NOx: 3.0 g/hp-hr 
CO: 2.6 g/hp-hr 
PM: 0.15 g/hp-hr 

Rule 335-3-10-.02(87) 

FP1, FP2 RICE Engines HAPs Per 40 CFR 63.6640(f)(1) maintenance checks 
and readiness testing is limited to 100 
hours per year and non-emergency use is 
limited to 50 hours per year, which count 
towards the 100 hour per year limit 
provided for maintenance and testing.  
There is no time limit on usage in 
emergency situations. 

Rule 335-3-10-.02(87) 
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RICE MACT Generators 
Provisos 

 
Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. These sources are subject to the applicable requirements of Rule 335-3-16-.03, 
"Major Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. These sources are subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-4-. 01 
for opacity. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

3. All sources are subject to the applicable requirements of ADEM Admin. Code R. 
335-3-11-.06(103), “National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 
(NESHAPs) for Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP) Emissions from Stationary 
Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines” (40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ).  

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (1) and (103) 

4. No. 1 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive, No. 2 Lime Kiln Auxiliary Drive, No. 1 Fire 
Pump, and No. 2 Fire Pump are subject to the applicable requirements of ADEM 
Admin. Code R. 335-3-10-.02(87), “Standards of Performance for Stationary 
Compression Ignition Internal Combustion Engines” (40 CFR Part 60 Subpart IIII). 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

5. Pursuant to 63.6590(c), the LK1, LK2, FP1, & FP2 must meet the requirements of 
40 CFR Part 63, Subpart ZZZZ by meeting the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, 
Subpart IIII. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 

  

Emission Standards  

1. For all units, opacity shall not exceed twenty percent as determined by six-minute 
average.  During one six-minute period in any sixty-minute period, a person may 
discharge into the atmosphere from any source of emission, particulate of an opacity 
not greater than that designated as forty percent. 

Rule 335-3-4-.01 

2. All units beginning on or before May 3, 2013, shall comply with the emission 
limitations in 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ Table 2c (4). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 

3. All units beginning on or before May 3, 2013, shall be operated according to the 
requirements in 63.6640(f)(1)(2)(i) through (iii).  

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 

4. All units and after-treatment control device (if any), beginning on or before May 3, 
2013, shall be operated and maintained according to the manufacturer's emission-
related written instructions, or the facility develop a maintenance plan which must 
provide to the extent practicable for the maintenance and operation of the engine in a 
manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103);   

5. Beginning on or before May 3, 2013, the facility must minimize engine time spent at 
idle during startup and minimize the engine's startup time to a period needed for 
appropriate and safe loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 minutes. The emission 
standards in Table 2c of 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ apply to all times other than 
startup. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 
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6. Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.4204(b) and 60.4201(a), the permittee shall not cause or 
allow the emissions from  LK1 and  LK2 to exceed the applicable emission standards 
in 40 CFR §89.112, specifically: 

(a) The sum of the emissions of non-methane hydrocarbons (NMHC) and nitrogen 
oxides (NOx) shall not exceed 7.5 g/kW-hr (5.59 g/hp-hr) 

(b) Carbon monoxide emissions shall not exceed 5.5 g/kW-hr (4.10 g/hp-hr) 

(c) Particulate Matter emissions shall not exceed 0.6 g/kW-hr (0.45 g/hp-hr) 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

7. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 60.4205(c), the permittee shall not cause or allow 
the emissions from the FP1 and FP2 to exceed the applicable emission standards in 
Table 4, specifically: 

i. The sum of the emissions of non-methane hydrocarbons (NMHC) and 
nitrogen oxides (NOx) shall not exceed 4.0 g/kW-hr (3.0 g/hp-hr). 

ii. The carbon monoxide (CO) emission rate shall not exceed 3.5 g/kW-hr (2.6 
g/hp-hr). 

iii. The particulate matter (PM) emission rate shall not exceed 0.20 g/kW-hr 
(0.15 g/hp-hr). 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

8. For LK1 and LK2,  Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.4211(c), the facility shall comply with the 
emission standards of Subpart IIII by purchasing an engine that is certified by the 
manufacturer to meet the requirements of 60.4204(b). 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

9. Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.4207(b), the permittee shall not burn any diesel fuel in LK1, 
LK2, FP1, or FP2 CI engines that does not meet the following per-gallon standards 
of 40 CFR §80.510(b): 

i. Sulfur content shall not exceed 15 parts per million (ppm); and 

ii. Cetane index shall be a minimum of 40 or the aromatic content shall not 
exceed 35 volume percent 

 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. The facility must demonstrate continuous compliance with the operating limitations 
in Tables 2c according to the methods specified in Table 6 (9) to 40 CFR 63 Subpart 
ZZZZ for all units  

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 

2. For the LK1, LK2, FP1, and FP2 CI engines, pursuant to 40 CFR 60.4211(a), the 
facility shall operate and maintain the stationary CI ICE and control device according 
to the manufacturer’s written instructions or procedures.  Only changes to those 
emission-related settings permitted by the manufacturer are allowed to be made.  
Also, the Requirements of 40 CFR parts 89, 94, and/or 1068 shall be adhered to, as 
they apply.   

Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

Emission Monitoring  

1. The facility must install a non-resettable hour meter and monitor all applicable units 
according to the requirements of §63.6625(f), §63.6635, §60.4209, and §60.4211. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103)  
Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

2. No later than May 3, 2013, the facility shall monitor and collect data according to the 
requirements of §63.6635 and 60.4214(b). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103); 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. The facility shall keep records of the operation of the applicable engines in 
emergency and non-emergency service, which is recorded through the non-resettable 
hour meter.  The owner shall record the time of operation of the engine and the 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 
Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 
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reason the engine was in operation during that time.  These records shall be retained 
onsite for inspection purposes for a period of at least five years. 

2. To demonstrate compliance with the fuel limitations, the permittee shall only 
purchase fuels subject to meeting the fungible specifications for diesel fuel.  Records 
of these fuel purchases shall be maintained in a permanent form suitable for 
inspection and shall be readily available for inspection upon request.  These records 
shall be retained for a period of 5 years from the date of generation of each record. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

3. The facility shall keep records in accordance with §63.6655 and §60.4214(b) for the 
all units. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (103) 
Rule  335-3-10-.02(87) 

4. If any of the existing units are reconstructed, the facility shall submit an Initial 
Notification. 

Rule  335-3-11-.02(1) and (103) 
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No. 1 Lime Kiln  
Informational Summary 

 
 
Description:   No. 1 Lime Kiln 
     
 
Emission Unit No: Z003 
 
Installation Date:  1967  Reconstruction / Modification date:  N/A 
 
Operating Capacity:  21,242 lb/hr CaO 
 
Operating Schedule:  8760 hours/year. 
 
This unit contains equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 

40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM 
 

   

Pollutants Emitted 
Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 

Air Permit Z003   
TV Application 501 

No. 1 Lime Kiln Particulate Matter No Greater than 1.0 lb/air dried 
ton of pulp 

Rule  335-3-4-.07 

Air Permit Z003   
TV Application 501 

No. 1 Lime Kiln (State only) Total reduced sulfur No Greater than 20 parts per 
million at 10 percent oxygen 

Rule  335-3-5-.04 

Air Permit Z003   
TV Application 501 

No. 1 Lime Kiln Opacity No Greater than 20 percent with 
one six-minute period up to 40 
percent in any one hour period 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Air Permit Z003   
TV Application 501 

No. 1 Lime Kiln Particulate Matter 
(surrogate for 
HAPs) 

0.36 grains/dry standard cubic 
foot at 10 percent oxygen 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (38) 

 
Permitted Fuels  

Fuel % Sulfur 
No. 2 -6 Fuel Oil 2.9 

Natural Gas  
Reclaimed Oil 1.0 
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Provisos 

 
No. 1 Lime Kiln Federally Enforceable Provisos Regulations 

Applicability  

1. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of Rule 335-3-16-.03, "Major 
Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. This source is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-4-.07(2)(c) 
particulate matter from kraft pulp mill lime kilns. 

Rule  335-3-4-.07(2)(c) 

3. This source is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-4-.01 for 
opacity. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

4. This source is subject to the requirements of National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Pollutants General Provisions as provided for in Table 1 of Subpart MM 
and 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM as referenced in ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-11-
.06(38). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

Emission Standards  

1. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 1.0 pounds per air-dried ton of pulp. Rule  335-3-4-.07(2)(c) 

2. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM, particulate matter emissions, as a 
surrogate for HAPS, shall not exceed 0.36 gr/dscf corrected to 10% oxygen.  This 
alternative limit was established under the provisions of §63.862(a)(1)(ii).  

The No. 1 Lime Kiln may be included in the bubble provisions of §63.862(a)(1)(ii) 
regardless of the number of hours that it operates.  This alternative was approved, 
through the provisions of §63.94, as equivalent to the standards of 40 CFR Part 63, 
Subpart MM.  All other requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM remain in 
effect.    

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

3. Opacity shall not exceed twenty percent as determined by six-minute average.  
During one six-minute period in any sixty-minute period, a person may discharge 
into the atmosphere from any source of emission, particulate of an opacity not 
greater than that designated as forty percent. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the particulate emission limit shall be determined in accordance 
with the 40 CFR 60 Method 5 or other method approved by the Department. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Compliance with the opacity limit shall be determined in accordance with the 40 
CFR 60 Method 9. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Emission Monitoring  

1. A particulate matter emission test shall be performed at least once per year. Rule  335-3-5-.02 

2. For particulate matter periodic monitoring, if any three-hour rolling average lime 
mud flow rate is greater than 110 percent of its average value recorded at the time of 
a required periodic test that showed compliance or a test approved by the 
Department that showed compliance, the feed rate is to be lowered until compliance 
is successfully demonstrated at the higher rate. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

3. Since this unit is controlled by a wet scrubber, opacity periodic monitoring will be 
satisfied through particulate emission periodic monitoring. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 
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Emission Monitoring Continued  

4. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility shall monitor the wet 
scrubber liquid supply flow rate and pressure drop during times when lime mud is 
fed.  The parametric monitoring system shall meet the requirements listed in 
§63.8(c). 

This unit shall not have 6 or more 3-hour average parameter values within any 6-
month reporting period that are below the minimum operating limits established in 
accordance with §63.864(j) during times when lime mud is fed, with the exception 
of pressure drop during periods of startup and shutdown.  No more than one 
exceedance will be attributed in any given 24-hour period.  

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

5. As specified in §63.8(g)(5), monitoring data recorded during periods of unavoidable 
CMS breakdowns, out-of-control periods, repairs, maintenance periods, calibration 
checks, and zero (low-level) and high level adjustments shall not be included in any 
data average computed under 40 CFR  63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

6. The first periodic particulate matter performance test shall be performed by October 
13, 2020 pursuant to 63.865 and every 5 years thereafter. 
 
Performance test data must be submitted through CEDRI within 60 days after the 
date of completing each performance test. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A particulate matter emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once per year. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average lime mud flow rates shall be made and 
maintained on file available for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. Records of all three-hour block average wet scrubber pressure drops across the 
scrubber inlet and liquid flow rates shall be made and maintained on file available 
for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

4. Pursuant to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM the facility must maintain records of the 
CaO production rates in units of Mg/d or ton/d. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM the facility must maintain records 
of any occurrence when corrective action is required (when a 3-hour average flow 
rate or pressure drop is below the minimum operating limit established according to 
§63.864 (j) during times when lime mud is fed, with the exception of pressure drop 
during periods of startup and shutdown), and when a violation is noted (when six or 
more 3-hour average flow rate or pressure drop values within any 6-month reporting 
period are below the minimum operating limit established according to §63.864(j) 
during times when lime mud is fed, with the exception of pressure drop during 
periods of startup and shutdown.). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 
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Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements Continued  

6. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM the facility must maintain records 
of parametric monitoring data required in §63.864, including any period when the 3-
hour average flow rate or pressure drop, during times when lime mud is fed, were 
inconsistent with the levels established during the initial or subsequent performance 
test, with a brief explanation of the cause of the deviation, the time the deviation 
occurred, the time corrective action was initiated and completed, and corrective 
action taken. 

The facility must also maintain sufficient information to estimate the quantity of 
each regulated pollutant emitted over the emission limit for each failure to meet an 
operation limit.  The information must be sufficient to provide a reliable emissions 
estimate if requested by the Administrator. 

The facility must also maintain records and documentation of supporting 
calculations for compliance determinations made under §63.865(a) through (d).   

The facility must also maintain records of the monitoring parameter ranges for the 
pressure drop and scrubber flow rates.   

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

7. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM the facility must submit a 
semiannual Excess Emissions Report and/or Summary Report containing the 
information required in §63.867(c), including the number and duration of three hour 
averages when the flow rate or pressure drops were below the minimum operating 
limit.  If the Total duration of excess emissions or process control system parameter 
exceedances for the reporting period is less than 1 percent of the total reporting 
period operating time, and CMS downtime is less than 5 percent of the total 
reporting period operating time, only the Summary Report is required to be 
submitted.  If the total duration of excess emissions or process control system 
parameter exceedances for the reporting period is 1 percent or greater of the total 
reporting period operating time, or the total CMS downtime for the reporting period 
is 5 percent or greater of the total reporting period operating time, or any violations 
according to §63.864(k)(2) occurred, information from both the Summary Report 
and Excess Emissions Report must be submitted.   
 
Excess Emissions and Summary Reports must be reported electronically via CEDRI 
per §63.867(d)(2) once the reporting form specific to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM 
has been available in CEDRI for one year. 
 
Reports shall be submitted within 30 days following the end of the semiannual 
periods ending on June 30 and December 31. 

 
  

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 
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Applicability (State Only)  

1. This source is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-5-.04 (6) 
total reduced sulfur from kraft pulp mill lime kilns. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(6) 

Emission Standards (State Only)  

1. Total reduced sulfur emissions shall not exceed 20 parts per million at 10 percent 
oxygen averaged over discrete 12 hour periods. If an owner or operator 
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that emissions in excess of the 
levels otherwise authorized in this regulation occur as a result of properly 
performed startups, shutdowns or unavoidable malfunctions these emissions will 
not constitute a violation. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures (State Only)  

1. Compliance with the total reduced sulfur emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the continuous emission monitor, 40 CFR Part 60 Method 16, 16A 
or 16B or other method approved by the Department. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

Emission Monitoring  (State Only)  

1. A total reduced sulfur continuous emissions monitor shall be installed, calibrated, 
maintained, and operated in accordance with 40 CFR §60.284, except that 
monitoring spans may be approved by the Director. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(8) 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements (State Only)  

1. A report of excess total reduced sulfur emissions, as defined below, will be 
submitted to the Department for each calendar quarter within the month following 
the end of the quarter.  The reports will include the following information: 

a. The magnitude of excess emissions greater than 20 parts per million adjusted 
to 10 percent oxygen computed from twelve hour averages (data recorded 
during periods of total reduced sulfur emission monitoring system breakdowns, 
repairs, calibration checks and zero and span adjustments shall not be included 
in the data averages). 

b. The date and time of commencement and completion of each time period of 
excess emissions. 

c. The nature and cause of the excess emissions (if known) and the corrective 
action taken or preventative measures adopted. 

d. The date and time identifying each period during which the total reduced sulfur 
emission monitoring system was inoperative (except for zero and span checks) 
and the nature of the system repairs or adjustments. 

e. When no excess emissions have occurred and the total reduced sulfur emission 
monitoring system was not inoperative or did not require repairs or 
adjustments, such information will be stated in the report. 

Rule  335-3-5-.04(9) 
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No. 2 Lime Kiln  
Informational Summary 

 
 

Description:   No. 2 Lime Kiln   
 

Emission Unit No: Z013 
 

Installation Date:  1980  Reconstruction / Modification date:  N/A 
 

Operating Capacity:  39,829 lbs/hr CaO 
 

Operating Schedule:  8760 hours/year. 
 

This unit contains equipment that is subject to the following NSPSs, NESHAPs, or MACTs: 
40 CFR Part 60 Subpart BB 
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM 
 
 

 Pollutants Emitted 
Emission Point # Point Description Pollutant Emission Limit Standard 

Air Permit Z013   
TV Application 502 

No. 2 Lime Kiln Particulate Matter Particulate emissions shall not 
exceed either 0.13 gr/sdcf at 10 
percent oxygen when firing 
petroleum coke and/or liquid fossil 
fuel or 42 pounds per hour and 
0.067 gr/sdcf at 10 percent oxygen 
when gaseous fossil fuel is fired 
and/or 21 pounds per hour 
measured in accordance with the 
40 CFR Part 60 Method 5. 

When petroleum coke and gaseous 
fossil fuel are fired simultaneously 
in any combination, the allowed 
particulate emissions rate (in grains 
per standard dry cubic foot at 10 
percent oxygen) shall be 
determined by proration 

Rule  335-3-10-.02 (28) and 
Rule 335-3-14-.04 (9) 

Air Permit Z013   
TV Application 502 

No. 2 Lime Kiln Total reduced sulfur No Greater than 8 parts per million 
at 10 percent oxygen 

Rule  335-3-10-.02 (28) 

Air Permit Z013   
TV Application 502 

No. 2 Lime Kiln Sulfur dioxide 39 tons per year Rule 335-3-14-.04 (9) 

Air Permit Z013   
TV Application 502 

No. 2 Lime Kiln Opacity No Greater than 20 percent with 
one six-minute period up to 40 
percent in any one hour period 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

Air Permit Z013   
TV Application 502 

No. 2 Lime Kiln HAPS 0.1 grains per dry standard cubic 
foot at 10 percent oxygen 

Rule 335-3-11-.06 (38) 

 

Permitted Fuels 

Fuel % Sulfur 
No. 2 -6 Fuel Oil 2.9 

Natural Gas  
Pet Coke 10.0 

Reclaimed Oil 1.0 
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Applicability  

1. This source is subject to the applicable requirements of Rule 335-3-16-.03, "Major 
Source Operating Permits". 

Rule  335-3-16-.03 

2. This source is subject to federal New Source Performance Standards 40 CFR 60 
Subpart A and Subpart BB. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(1) and (28) 

3. This source is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-4-.01 for 
opacity. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

4. This source is subject to the requirements of National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Pollutants General Provisions as provided for in Table 1 of Subpart MM 
and 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart MM as referenced in ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-11-
.06 (38). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

5. This source is subject to the requirements of ADEM Admin. Code 335-3-14-.04(9) 
Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Best Available Control Technology 
(BACT) limits for particulate and sulfur dioxide. 

Rule  335-3-14-.04(9) 

Emission Standards  

1. Particulate emissions shall not exceed 0.13 gr/sdcf at 10 percent oxygen when liquid 
fossil fuel is fired.  60.282(a)(3)(i) 0.15 g/dscm (0.066 gr/dscf) corrected to 10 
percent oxygen, when gaseous fossil fuel is burned.. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(1) and (28) 

2. Particulate emissions shall not exceed the more stringent of 0.13 gr/sdcf at 10 
percent oxygen and/or 42 pounds per hour when firing petroleum coke and liquid 
fossil fuel.  Particulate emissions shall not exceed the more stringent of 0.067 gr/sdcf 
at 10 percent oxygen, and/or 21 pounds per hour when gaseous fossil fuel is fired.   

Rule  335-3-14-.04(9) 

3. When petroleum coke and gaseous fossil fuel are fired simultaneously in any 
combination, the allowed particulate emissions rate (in grains per standard dry cubic 
foot at 10 percent oxygen) shall be determined by proration using the following 
equation: 

PSPM = [Y(0.067) + Z(0.13)] Y + Z 

Where:  PSPM is the prorated standard for particulate matter when firing natural 
gas and petroleum coke simultaneously, in grains per standard dry cubic 
feet at 10 percent oxygen; 

 Y is the percentage of total heat input from natural gas; and 

 Z is the percentage of total heat input derived from petroleum coke. 

Rule  335-3-14-.04(9) 

4. Opacity shall not exceed twenty percent as determined by six-minute average.  
During one six-minute period in any sixty-minute period, a person may discharge 
into the atmosphere from any source of emission, particulate of an opacity not 
greater than that designated as forty percent. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

5. The No. 2 Lime Kiln shall not emit more than 39 tons of sulfur dioxide per year. Rule  335-3-14-.04(9) 

6. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BB total reduced sulfur emissions shall 
not exceed 8 parts per million at 10 percent oxygen, averaged over discrete 12 hour 
periods. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 
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Emission Standards Continued  

7. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, particulate matter emissions, as a 
surrogate for HAPS, shall not exceed 0.1 gr/dscf, corrected to 10 percent oxygen.  
This alternative limit was established under the provisions of §63.862 (a)(1)(ii).   

Rule  335-3-11-.06(1) and (38) 

Compliance and Performance Test Methods and Procedures  

1. Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with the 40 CFR Part 60 Method 5 or other method approved by the 
Department. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) and  

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Compliance with the opacity limit shall be determined in accordance with the 40 
CFR Part 60, Method 9. 

Rule  335-3-4-.01 

3. Compliance with the total reduced sulfur emission limit shall be determined in 
accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Method 16, 16A, or 16B. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 

Emission Monitoring  

1. A particulate matter emission test shall be performed at least once per year. Rule  335-3-5-.02 

2. For particulate matter periodic monitoring if any three-hour rolling average lime 
mud flow rate is greater than 110 percent of its average value set by the required 
complying periodic test or a complying test approved by the Department, the lime 
mud flow rate is to be lowered until compliance is successfully demonstrated at the 
higher rate. 

Rule  335-3-16-.05 

3. For sulfur dioxide periodic monitoring, the facility shall obtain fuel oil and 
petroleum coke vendor certification of sulfur in fuel for every load received by the 
mill. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

4. A total reduced sulfur continuous emission monitor shall be installed, calibrated, 
maintained and operated in accordance with 40 CFR §60.284, except that 
monitoring spans may be approved by the Director. 

Rule  335-3-10-.02(28) 

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility shall monitor the wet 
scrubber liquid supply flow rate and the pressure drop during times when lime mud 
is fed.  The parametric monitoring system shall meet the requirements listed in 
§63.8(c). 

This unit shall not have 6 or more 3-hour average parameter values within any 6-
month reporting period that are below the minimum operating limits established in 
accordance with §63.864 (j) during times when lime mud is fed, with the exception 
of pressure drop during periods of startup and shutdown. .  No more than one 
exceedance will be attributed in any given 24-hour period. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

6. As specified in §63.8(g)(5), monitoring data recorded during periods of unavoidable 
CMS breakdowns, out-of-control periods, repairs, maintenance periods, calibration 
checks, and zero (low-level) and high level adjustments shall not be included in any 
data average computed under 40 CFR  63, Subpart MM. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

7. The first periodic particulate matter performance test shall be performed by October 
13, 2020 pursuant to 63.865 and every 5 years thereafter. 

Performance test data must be submitted through CEDRI within 60 days after the 
date of completing each performance test. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements  

1. A particulate matter emission test report shall be submitted to the Department at 
least once per year. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

2. Records of all three-hour rolling average lime mud flow rates shall be made and 
maintained on file available for inspection for at least five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

3. Records of the fuel usage and sulfur content of fuels, sufficient to calculate sulfur 
dioxide emissions, must be made and remain on file for five years. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

4. A report of excess total reduced sulfur emissions, as defined below, will be 
submitted to the Department for each calendar quarter within the month following 
the end of the quarter.  The reports will include the following information: 

a) The magnitude of excess emissions greater than 8 parts per million adjusted 
to 10 percent oxygen computed from twelve hour averages (data recorded 
during periods of total reduced sulfur emission monitoring system 
breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks and zero and span adjustments shall 
not be included in the data averages). 

b) The date and time of commencement and completion of each time period of 
excess emissions. 

c) The nature and cause of the excess emissions (if known) and the corrective 
action taken or preventative measures adopted. 

d) The date and time identifying each period during which the total reduced 
sulfur emission monitoring system was inoperative (except for zero and 
span checks) and the nature of the system repairs or adjustments. 

e) When no excess emissions have occurred and the total reduced sulfur 
emission monitoring system was not inoperative or did not require repairs 
or adjustments, such information will be stated in the report. 

Rule  335-3-14-.02 

5. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of any occurrence when corrective action is required (when a 3-hour average flow 
rate or pressure drop is below the minimum operating limit established according to 
§63.864 (j) during times when lime mud is fed, with the exception of pressure drop 
during periods of startup and shutdown), and when a violation is noted (when six or 
more 3-hour average flow rate or pressure drop within any 6-month reporting period 
are below the minimum operating limit established according to §63.864(j) during 
times when lime mud is fed, with the exception of pressure drop during periods of 
startup and shutdown). 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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6. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must maintain records 
of parametric monitoring data required under §63.864, including any period when 
the 3-hour average flow rate or pressure drop, during times when lime mud is fed, 
were inconsistent with the levels established during the initial or subsequent 
performance test, with a brief explanation of the cause of the deviation, the time the 
deviation occurred, the time corrective action was initiated and completed, and 
corrective action taken.   

The facility must also maintain sufficient information to estimate the quantity of 
each regulated pollutant emitted over the emission limit for each failure to meet an 
operation limit.  The information must be sufficient to provide a reliable emissions 
estimate if requested by the Administrator. 

The facility must also maintain records and documentation of supporting calculation 
for compliance determinations made under §63.865 (a) through (d). 

The facility must also maintain the records of the monitoring parameter ranges for 
the scrubber’s pressure drop and scrubber flow rates. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 

7. In accordance with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, the facility must submit a 
semiannual Excess Emissions Report and/or Summary Report containing the 
information required in §63.867 (c), including the number and duration of three hour 
averages when the flow rate or pressure drop were below the minimum operating 
limit.  If the Total duration of excess emissions or process control system parameter 
exceedances for the reporting period is less than 1 percent of the total reporting 
period operating time, and CMS downtime is less than 5 percent of the total 
reporting period operating time, only the Summary Report is required to be 
submitted.  If the total duration of excess emissions or process control system 
parameter exceedances for the reporting period is 1 percent or greater of the total 
reporting period operating time, or the total CMS downtime for the reporting period 
is 5 percent or greater of the total reporting period operating time, or any violations 
according to §63.864(k)(2) occurred, information from both the Summary Report 
and Excess Emissions Report must be submitted. 

Excess Emissions and Summary Reports must be reported electronically via CEDRI 
per §63.867(d)(2) once the reporting form specific to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM 
has been available in CEDRI for one year. 

Reports shall be submitted within 30 days following the end of the semiannual 
periods ending on June 30 and December 31. 

Rule  335-3-11-.06(38) 
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